Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry serves as counsel to the Bishop in the areas of discernment and formation. The Commission is responsible for supporting and developing the ministry of all baptized people in our diocese, and for providing opportunities for discernment of ministry. The whole Commission gathers approximately 8 times per year, including at Discernment Community retreats, and to meet with prospective postulants for ordained ministry.

The Commission works closely with the Missioner for Lifelong Formation and is made up of lay and ordained members appointed by the bishop and confirmed at the Annual Meeting of the Diocesan Convention.

Upcoming Meetings

Members of the Commission

The Rt. Rev. Diana Akiyama, Bishop
Barbara Millikan (Trinity Cathedral, Portland)
The Rev. Bob Morrison (St. Albans, Albany)
Alan Murray (Trinity Cathedral, Portland)
The Rev. Kurt Neilson (Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital)
The Rev. Jeanne Kaliszewski (Grace Memorial, Portland)
The Rev. Dn. Linda Lee (St. Timothy, Brookings)
The Rev. Kristina Burbank (St. James, Lincoln City)
The Rev. Steve Ellis (Prince of Peace, Salem)
Mary Stirling (St. Martin, Shady Cove)
Liz Klein (St. John the Baptist, Portland)
Marcia Newberry (St. Luke’s by the Sea, Waldport)
The Rev. Cn. Raggs Ragan (Trinity Cathedral, Portland)