Diocesan Council

The Diocesan Council is the body of lay and clergy members of the diocese authorized by the canons of the diocese to “administer the missionary, educational, and social service work of the Church” in the Episcopal Church of Western Oregon. Diocesan Council is split up into three teams: Mission, Ministry, and Management. The Diocesan Council oversees the creation of a budget each year to carry out the ministry and mission of the diocese. The council also follows through on resolutions that are passed at the Annual Meeting of the Convention and supports the work of working groups. Terms are based on the annual convention of the diocese each year.

Membership of the Diocesan Council is comprised of the bishop, the canon to the ordinary, lay and clergy representatives elected by all convocations of the diocese to serve a two-year term, and lay and clergy members elected by convention to serve a three-year term.

The Diocesan Council meetings are once a quarter on Saturdays. Two of the meetings are in person with the rest of the All Governing Bodies and two of the meetings take place on Zoom.

Upcoming Meetings

members of the council

Staff Members:

The Rt. Rev. Diana D. Akiyama, Bishop
The Rev. Canon Christopher Craun, Canon to the Ordinary
Canon Anne Marie Lowe, Canon for Finance and Property

Term Ending 2024:

Matt Irvin (St. Matthew, Eugene)
The Rev. Allan Miles, Deacon (St. Martin, Shady Cove)
Nancylee Stewart (Emmanuel, Coos Bay)
The Rev. Sara Warfield (St. Luke the Physician, Gresham)

Term Ending 2025:

The Rev. George Lufkin (St. Albans & St. Catherine, Manzanita)
The Rev. Jackee Martinez, Deacon (St. John the Divine, Springfield)
Linda O’Hara (St. Barnabas, McMinnville)
Tim Shields (St. Michael & All Angels, Portland)

Term Ending 2026:

Mary Elles Andrew (St. Andrew, Florence)
Nikolaus Grimsby (St. Luke, Grants Pass)

The Rev. Ruth Krueger, Deacon (Good Samaritan, Corvallis)
The Rev. Birch Rambo (Resurrection, Eugene)

Convocation Representatives:

The Rev. Tricia Gates Brown, Deacon (St. Mary, Woodburn) – Willamette
The Rev. Shawn Dickerson (St. Paul, Oregon City) – Metro-East
Beth Ferguson (Trinity Cathedral, Portland) – Columbia
Marty Gault (St. Alban, Albany) – Central
The Rev. Doug Hale (St. John, Bandon) – South Coast
Sr. Amy Linder (Emmanuel, Coos Bay) – South Coast
Mary Macy (Prince of Peace, Salem) – Willamette
Jan Martin (St. Mark, Medford) – Southern
The Rev. Jane Maynard (St. Mark, Medford) – Southern

The Rev. Robert Morrison (St. Alban, Albany) – Central
The Rev. Carren Sheldon (Grace, Astoria) – Columbia
The Rev. Bonnie Stewart (St. Barnabas, Portland) – Sunset